New Book: “A Fleet in Being: Austro-Hungarian Warships of WWI”

“A Fleet in Being” is now available from Amazon, Wargame Vault and Smashwords.

Here is the blurb:

The Kaiserliche und Königliche Kriegsmarine – The Austro-Hungarian Navy – was in at the beginning of World War I when Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife Sophie lay in state aboard its flagship, and at the end when it dissolved along with the empire that commanded it. During the war, this small but powerful “fleet in being” forced the Allies to maintain a blockade of the Otranto Straits. German and Austro-Hungarian U-boats ran riot elsewhere in the Mediterranean even though the capital ships almost never left port.

Illustrated with thirty photographs and drawings, this book provides a comprehensive and detailed listing of the ships that made up the KuK Kriegsmarine, its operations, and the unique problems this unusual fleet faced, from contentious duelling parliaments to ships built by landlocked Hungary.

I hired MeiLin Miranda (the Blurb Doctor) to help me with the blurb, and I’m very pleased that I did. I was initially reluctant to do so, since this is a very niche subject and I don’t expect to sell more than a few copies. However, having completely failed to write anything even half-decent, I contacted MeiLin, who helped me write something far better than I could have managed on my own.

About Russell Phillips

I write books and articles about military technology and history. My articles have been published in Television Magazine, Miniature Wargames, Wargames Illustrated and the Society of Twentieth Century Wargamers Journal.
This entry was posted in Writing & Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Book: “A Fleet in Being: Austro-Hungarian Warships of WWI”

  1. Thanks, Russ! It’s always a pleasure working with you.

Comments are closed.